On Sunday, May 8, the top nine design finalists from the Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) Design For Stars Competition showcased their collection and pieces at the first-ever AMVCA runway show.

The designers – Amy Aghomi, Azeezat Alawusa, Ezioghene Egbelefiyo, Felix Asuquo, Ikechukwu Nwosu, Obinna Omeruo, Omowunmi Pillot, Sophie Chamberlain, and Oseluese Okpamen were chosen out of several entries submitted for the competition. They went through two weeks of intensive training from A-list designers – Lanre Da Silva Ajayi of Lanre Da Silva Ajayi, Mai Atafo of ATAFO and Adebayo Oke-Lawal of Orange Culture to create unique pieces for the show.

Take a look at each of the designer’s collections below:

Amy Aghomi

Azeezat Alawusa

Ezioghene Egbelefiyo

Felix Asuquo

Ikechukwu Nwosu

Obinna Omeruo

Omowunmi Pillot

Sophie Chamberlain

Oseluese Okpamen

At the night’s end, one of the judges, Mai Atafo, announced Felix Asuquo of the Fai brand, Obinna Umero of the Omeruo brand and Sophie Chamberlain of the Pherla Nuba brand as winners of the ‘Design For Stars Competition’ and first-ever AMVCA fashion runway show. The show’s winners walked away with five million Naira each after the event’s audience and judges voted them as the designers with the best collection.

Obinna Omeruo and Sophie Chamberlain also won Pepsi’s mini-competition, earning another N1 million each.

Don’t miss any moment of this event – keep up with our #AMVCA8 updates on @bellanaijastyle and www.bellanaijastyle.com